Remember

Today has been the forth year that I officially been a Christian. I remember the day so well. I remember that I was coming off a spiritual high at a high school and I remember one of my friends Brendon prayed with me and I felt an overwhelming joy. I also remember that I was on a spiritual high for the whole weekend. I was excited to change my life around and I was excited to finally get some positive friends.

On November 11, 2008 at 3 in the morning, there was an accident on the road. I heard many stories but the one that I know the most was the person wasn’t wearing their seat belt and was ejected out the back window and landed into a barbed wire fence. That person died in December after their parents pulled the plug on them. That accident was a block away from me

I was about to be picked up by my friend Troy. I was able to get a ride by him, but I heard that there was an accident and he needed to take a detour. I later then had the best day of my life due to positive role models, and me feeling the reality of Jesus in my life, even though I didn’t know everything. I went to school and I realized that it was a girl that did have an interest in me…Missy. It was her that was in an accident near my house. I still miss her to this very day.

Why does this story matter to you?

Hebrews 12:1-2 Therefore, since we are surrounded by so great a cloud of witnesses, let us also lay aside every weight, and sin which clings so closely, and let us run with endurance the race that is set before us, looking to Jesus, the founder and perfecter of our faith, who for the joy that was set before him endured the cross, despising the shame, and is seated at the right hand of the throne of God.

For a runner to win a race, they have to train. They have to go through resistance, struggles, and heavy lifting to be physically fit to beat their competitors. For Christians, our competitors is the world. The resistance is the world. The struggles is worldly things. The heavy lifting is the word of God. Sometimes its something that you don’t want to hear and the truth hurts sometimes. The truth is more important than living a lie. I could have easily been in that car and die because of the poor decisions that I have made. I am glad that I chose Jesus from the standpoint that my life would have been over and eternity would be forever lost with the greatest man who ever lived. I am guaranteed to be on the right hand of God because I can confidently say that I love Jesus and I choose him over anything.

As for the lost, make sure that they start somewhere. Train and equip the people who are lost and make sure that they choose an eternal life with Jesus. Eternity is a long time to make the wrong decision.

I will never forget you Missy. Love you always

About Equip The Truth
Christian, trying to love God the best I can. In here you are going to find my history and I am going to attempt to preach the gospel. I am a Child and Youth Worker student and trying to be a future for children. Lets start young and show them the love that was given to us

Leave a Reply

