Master of Disguises

Being young is tough, especially when you have talent. Many opportunities can make you, break you, and hurt you. Many people seek after people; getting discovered or making dreams. Many people have dreams and many get them taken away. I have a dream that I would produce dance music. I remember when I was in college I was hooked on hard base techno. It changed my life. It made me dance all the time and that is all I thought about. I was on YouTube and connected with this guy who owned his own label. I have a dream of making my own music and producing it. It would be great, however I would be in the secular society all the time and would be hard to live as a Christian. I will come back to this later.

As I previously stated in a couple of blogs, I had a rough go that changed my perception on how I viewed God and how I viewed the church as a whole. It challenged me and left me heartbroken. It misconstrued a lot of peoples mental decisions and it showed that people aren’t who they seem. I remember years ago there was this girl who had so much talent at church. She was younger at the time and she was a power house when she sang. It was amazing to see her with so much talent and God was in the center of her life. It was clear it was evident.

I recall this girl told me about a situation that had her and her mom over the edge. Her mom was fearing for her life. Her mom was involved in a domestic abuse and there was no choice but to leave. The mother was rather upset, and so she was trying to get help from the pastor. The pastor told her that she had to stay. Thankfully she didn’t listen or they would have been seriously injured. However, the pastor has no contact with the family and that resulted in a lot of hurt, frustration, anger, sadness, lonliness, drinking, drugs, and abandoning God.

While I was dealing with my own stuff, I saw her and had a conversation at the coffee shop. She said to me that she had a hard time not believing in God. I instantly had tears on my face. How can someone who was so talented go to the world? Its very upsetting to see someone that has so much pains and so much hurts that can’t get past peoples brokenness. I bet this is how she is feeling:

Psalm 22:1-2 My God, My God, why have You forsaken me? Far from my deliverance are the words of my groaning. Oh my God, I cry by day, but You do not answer; and by night I have no rest.

Anyone whoidentifies with this scripture knows what I am talking about. Anyone who has been a Christian and who tells the truth has struggled with unbelief. It is very devastating that people that were for Jesus have walked away from the Christian faith. A “wolf in sheeps clothing” who claim to be for Christ can also be the biggest danger if they know what they do. I find, from experience, sometimes being over zealous can get in the way. Sometimes being over zealous does more damage then it does good. Sometimes people give up to easy. Guilty as charged. So what do we do about this?

1 Thessalonians 5:3-12 While they are saying, “Peace and safety!” then destruction will come upon them suddenly like labor pains upon a woman with child, and they will not escape. But you, brethren, are not in darkness, that the day would overtake you like a thief; for you are all sons of light and sons of day. We are not of night nor of darkness; so then let us not sleep as others do, but let us be alert and sober. For those who sleep do their sleeping at night, and those who get drunk get drunk at night. But since we are of the day, let us be sober, having put on the breastplate of faith and love, and as a helmet, the hope of salvation. For God has not destined us for wrath, but for obtaining salvation through our Lord Jesus Christ, who died for us, so that whether we are awake or asleep, we will live together with Him. Therefore encourage one another and build up one another, just as you also are doing.

In regards to this situation, the girl turned out to love the party lifestyle. As for me, I am now have no interest in producing music for this record label. My life is living for Christ. I love Him, therefore I want others to love Him. I want to show her that there is no other way. Jesus loves you so much that he wants you for himself, and loves you enough to make a decision for you to choose him or not. For us as Christians assume that we are good stewards and wanting to bear fruit, we need to make sure that A) we are able to evangelize, despite the brokenness that we have and B) take what we know and use it for Gods glory. Lives are too precious to spend an eternity in hell because of mans poor choices.

I find that people need to take others where they are at and work with them. Always said that, always wanting to assist, always want people to try to love others and give them a rock to stand on. Truth and being genuine always comes from relationship. It always comes from love and it always comes from Jesus. Jesus is the way the truth and the life, no one can get to heaven or the Father except through JESUS. Let Him be your God, let Him cry with you. Let Him love you. So readers, I need advise.

How do you give the message to the brokenhearted?

About Equip The Truth
Christian, trying to love God the best I can. In here you are going to find my history and I am going to attempt to preach the gospel. I am a Child and Youth Worker student and trying to be a future for children. Lets start young and show them the love that was given to us

One Response to Master of Disguises

  1. Thanks for sharing, Matt. You share some great wisdom here. I believe it is important to listen to their hearts and to be transparent with your own brokenness. Then, let the power of Jesus work through your love.

Leave a Reply

